Vegan Chili

IMG_2007

I believe that food and skincare are interrelated.  I nourish my body and nourish my skin.  This is why I write about food and soap!  I want everything that goes in or on my body to be pure.  I talk about a lot of things to add to chili, avocado or cilantro pesto so I decided to share one of my chili recipes.  I say one of my chili recipes because each time I make it I alter it based on what I currently have in stock.  In the summer when my oregano bed was overflowing I added fresh oregano to each pot.  In the winter I use more dried herbs.

For this recipe, when making chili each batch can vary so I don’t use exact measurements of anything:

  • Several cups of dried red chili beans, soaked in water overnight
  • water or stock, vegetable or if you eat meat you can substitute a different stock
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Tomato puree or paste
  • Garlic, several cloves
  • Onion
  • Jalapeno – depending on how spicy you would like it
  • Sea Salt
  • Cumin
  • Cayenne
  • Coriander
  • Oregano
  • Sweet paprika
  • Smoked paprika
  • Bay leaf

IMG_20331. Start by rinsing and sorting your soaked beans.  These should have been soaking all night long.  Place in crock pot on one of the 8-10 hour settings.

IMG_20352. Cover your beans with water or stock.  Add your tomato puree or paste, use one that is only tomatoes like the one shown below. Usually if I use a paste, it’s about 1-2 spoonfuls.  Add in salt, I use about half a palm full (but I have low blood pressure and need the salt!)

IMG_2034(I used a new canned tomato puree which seemed to work pretty well for me, but I wouldn’t call it 100% corn free.  I was able to eat this without significant allergy related issues.)

IMG_20383. Chop your jalapeño, tomato, garlic and onion; add to beans in crockpot.

IMG_20394. This is the best smelling part! Gather your herbs and spices, add into crockpot.  Yummy already.

IMG_20485. Ready to go in 8-10 hours of crock pot cooking.  This whole pot feeds a family of 5 multiple times and costs less than $10 using organic ingredients.  I won’t go into all the boring health details, this is fat free so please add some healthy fats like avocado, high fiber from the beans and full of nutrients!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

