Daily Organization – Daily schedule & Routine

2015/01/img_1963.jpgOn my quest for organizing my home business the first thing I did was Identify the Obstacles that interfere with work.  After I looked closely at the obstacles, I Identified the Things to be Done on a regular basis.  The next step is to organize the things that need to be done.

As you can see here I was using a planner, a few lists that I wrote each day  & some other assorted scraps of paper of things I need to remember.

2015/01/img_1962.jpg

I have tried a multitude of things to organize myself.  I have set electronic reminders, I usually just snooze them.  I had a program that emailed me, I just deleted the emails.  Relying on my memory (and I have an excellent memory) doesn’t work for this type of thing.

I am a visual person, but I also remember things when I say them aloud or when I physically pick up my pen and write.  I know that lists have worked for me in the past, but I have to many different lists going right now and need to visually organize so I am not overwhelmed.  I know that I procrastinate doing things.

The first thing I did was type up the things I had identified earlier and organize them into daily, weekly and monthly (these are loose categories, because some I do every other day or twice a month).  I decided to color code each day and highlight the things I needed to do daily to really appeal to my visual side.  This is what my new organization tool looks like, I still use my planner and write in the things that need to be done as needed, but I use my printed sheet to highlight the things I need or want to do that day.

2015/01/img_2078.jpg

The most important thing I found that works for me is that I can visually see by looking which things I have procrastinated.  These are the things highlighted everyday without check marks.  Someone hates to pay bills and do laundry.

This has also helped me identify how many things I can realistically do in a day.  I also like to keep things fluid, so this allows me to write in extra things as they need to be done.  2015/01/img_21163.jpg

3 comments

  1. I love this! I too am visual and have too many lists. I am currently working through setting these things in order. My biggest struggle right now is taking the time to sit and focus on what needs to be focused on. Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

